Elections are not scheduled for 9 Rakhine townships: Myanmar UEC

Khaing Lu Hla (Roma Mray)

Narinjara News, 16 October 2020

Union Election Commission of Myanmar announced that the forthcoming national polls will not be conducted in nine townships and several village-tracts of some other townships of Rakhine State.

An election commission statement issued on 16 October revealed that there would be no polls in Maungdaw, Buthidaung, Rathedaung, Ponna Kyun, Kyauk Taw, Mrauk-U, Pauktaw, Minbya and Meabon township.

Moreover, polls are not scheduled for several wards and village-tracts in some other townships. Those include two wards and 52 village-tracts in Kyaukphyu township, three wards and 29 village- tracts in Ann township, four village tracts in Sittwe township and ten  wards with 52 village-tracts in Taungup township.

In fact, only four Rakhine townships namely Rambree, Man Aung, Thandwe and Gwa will witness full elections in 8 November 2020.

According to article 10 (f) of the election commission guidelines, the general elections will not be held in these constituencies because of un-accommodative ambience there for a free and fair polls.

Relentless fighting between the Myanmar army personnel and  Arakan Army members in Rakhine State, left at least 300 people dead, more than 600 injured and over  2,00,000 homeless.

Moreover, the State recorded more than 2,000 Covid-19 positive cases with nine casualties till date.

( Photo: Election campaign by ANP in Buthidaung on 16 October 2020)