Saturday, June 22nd 2024

AA captures six towns so far, two more waits for coming under their control

 The Arakan Army (AA) since its fighters launched an offensive against the military junta in the Rakhine region on 13 November,  has successfully captured six towns namely Sami, Pauktaw, Minbya, Kyauk Taw, Taung Pyo Let Wae along with Paletwa.


Mrauk-U and Ramree (Yanbye) are among the towns, currently under attack by the AA fighters, and those likely to fall.


The AA captured Paletwa on 14 January, Sami on 16 January, Pauktaw on 19 January, Minbya & Taung Pyo Let Wae on 6 February and Kyauk Taw on 7  February.


Efforts continue to capture Mrauk-U and Ramree townships. Strategic analysts believe that both the townships may go to AA’s control soon.


The AA fighters have already captured 540th light infantry battalion 378th light infantry battalion and  377th light infantry battalion in Mrauk-U, the ancient capital of Rakhine StateWith only one police battalion remaining, it is anticipated that it will also be captured soon.


All six  battalions based in Kyauktaw namely 539th light infantry battalion, 377th artillery battalion, 374th light infantry battalion, 376th light infantry battalion, 9th military operations command (MOC-9) and the 375th light infantry battalion were completely captured by the AA fighters within one month.


In Ramree town, only a small group of junta forces remains out of AA’s control. 


During the Rakhine conflicts that  began on 13 November, the AA fighters  captured nearly 200 military bases including the large military units like tactical operation command bases and several other battalions.


you may also like