Monday, June 17th 2024

Junta soldiers arrest 6 youths from Kyet Taw Pyin village of Sittwe

Thinzar New, Narinjara News, 7 June 2024

At least six young men were arrested by the junta forces from Kyet Taw Pyin village under  Sittwe township of  Arakan state, on 4 June.


The arrested individuals  include Ko Tun Naing Win (24), Ko Moe Di (24), Ko Maung Pyar (30), Ko Kyaw Kyaw (23), Ko Tun Lin (25) and Ko Nyein Nyein Lin (21).


"The junta forces conducted an overnight guest-list inspection in various  villages without any prior notice. During the inspection, the soldiers questioned and arrested several villagers. All of those detained are within their Thirties," said a resident.


At around  9 pm, nearly 50 soldiers from the column stationed at  Aung Taing village arrived at the location and arrested those six youths.


"The arrested youths have no affiliation with any political party or armed group. But all Arakanese youths are now under suspicion," added the resident.


The detained youths are kept at the 20th infantry battalion and township police station. Some were released after offering bribes to the soldiers.


"The families of detained youths at the 20th infantry battalion are yet to get any contacts with them. But those detained at the township police station are paying money to the security personnel and some of them have already been released. Many individuals were arrested for not having  Sittwe national registration cards. Some of them are being interrogated for finding links with the  Arakha Army," stated the resident.


On 15 and 16 May, the junta forces conducted overnight inspections of monasteries in Sittwe and arrested  over 100 individuals who did not possess Sittwe national registration cards. Many monks were also arrested and many of them are still in their custody.


From 29 to 31 May, the junta forces killed 76 people in Byine Phyu village and nearly 100 individuals were taken to the 20th infantry battalion.


you may also like