Monday, June 17th 2024

Residents of 5 Sittwe villages ordered by military junta to relocate

Eain Soe Phyu, Narinjara News, 10 June 2024


The residents of five villages under  Sittwe township, which are under the control of Myanmar military junta, have been ordered to shift to Sittwe town within five days. They are asked not to move to other places.


"We've been instructed to relocate between by 14 June. The villages slated for relocation are Aung Taing, Pa Lin Pyin, Ohn Yae Phaw, Kyat Taw Pyin and Yae Chan Pyin,” said a resident.


The villagers are unaware of the reason behind the order. Many of them apprehend that they may be used as human shields by the junta soldiers.


The concerned officials from these villages were directed by Sittwe township general administration office and Narinjara News tried to contact the officials but failed.


Tens of thousands of local residents are now in difficult situations after the order.


After the junta soldiers brutally killed more than 70 people in Byine Phyu village under  Sittwe township in between 29 May and 4 June, they are planning to forcibly relocate other villages. (Photo: old one, not related to this news)

you may also like